Timshel Tarbet

Cues and Views

Dynamic HR leader Timshel Tarbet, in brief.

Timshel Tarbet

Home: Playa Vista, California (LA suburb).  Age: In my 40s.  Birthplace: Portland, Oregon. Profession: Human resources.  Organization: SCAN Health Plan.  Title: VP,  Business Excellence & Diversity Strategy.  Pronouns: She/Her/Hers.  Alma mater: University of Phoenix.  Languages spoken: English, and a little German.

Current project: Does getting my 17 year old son through his last two years of high school count? Recent professional development: I am part of the Carol Emmott Fellowship, which is amazing and is helping me to become a stronger leader in healthcare.  Latest accomplishment: Helping to close the gap for some of our members on knowledge around the healthcare system and how they should engage with it as people of color.  What’s been your big (or biggest) leap? Taking  this job at SCAN and moving to LA from Oregon with my son, who only had two years left in high school. Neither of us knew anyone down here, so we were starting from scratch.  Hobbies: I love sports, pottery, knitting and growing things in the garden.  Recent travel or adventure: COVID, which meant no travel at all for me, other than for work.  Last book read: Social  Chemistry, by Marissa King.  Recently viewed and recommended: Legacy: In the Shadow of Greatness (Discovery+).

Personality profile: Warrior, passionate, fierce.  What one word would your closest friend use to describe you? Loyal.  Moral compass: Be the change you want to see in the world.  How do you define a perfect friendship? Someone you can rely on and who will be honest with you, but also willing to ride into the fire with you.  You don’t need to talk all of the time, but will be there when needed.  How do you define an ideal business relationship? Honesty, the ability to help one another grow, learning from one another, cooperation. What is your greatest joy? My two children.  What is your greatest fear? One of my boys passing away before I do.  What is your guilty pleasure? Wine.  What occupation, other than your own, do you most admire? Surgeons.  I wanted to be one, but hey, life happens.  What is at the top of your bucket  list? African safari. What is your favorite animal?  The highland cow.  They are incredibly sweet, almost like giant dogs.  How do you relieve stress? Knit, drink wine, watch TV, read.  What ingredient is essential to your perfect vacation? You might have guessed it: wine.  Also, not having to be in charge and not having a huge agenda, just relaxing. What is your go-to workout? My Peloton.

What book have you repeatedly read? The Art of Racing in the Rain, by Garth Stein.  I cry every time! What movie have you repeatedly watched? Interstellar.  What’s featured prominently on your home or office wall? Lots of pictures of highland cows.  Who has had the greatest influence on your life? My son Mekel.  He had cancer when he was young, and I had him young, so we went through it together.  What modern technology innovation do you most appreciate? Does indoor plumbing count?  What is your go-to source of news and information? CNN and NBC.  What is your go-to source of creative inspiration? Pinterest and Etsy.

What change are you working on to effect in your profession or field?

I want diversity to be more than a check-the-box, so, inspiration for those who are scared to actually do it or acknowledge that change actually needs to be made!

What change would you like to see in the world? An end to systemic racism.

What title would you choose for the movie about your life? A Survivor's Tale.  What actor would you choose to play you in the movie about your life? Gabrielle Union.  Who would you like to spend an evening with, in heaven? My paternal grandmother.  What object would you first save from your burning home? After my children, of course, at least one of the paintings by my adoptive father, before he passed away.  How would you choose to spend tomorrow, if you knew it was your last day on earth? With my sons.  What advice would you give your younger self? The trials you are going through will make you into an incredibly strong woman.  Have faith in yourself and you are going to be all right.  What day in your life would you like to re-live? My birthday the year my adoptive mother was passing away.  I would have spent more time with her on that day.

Personal mission: Addressing inequities and helping those most in need.  Personal motto: Be a good person.  Favorite quote: "Kick the tires and light the fires, big daddy (Capt. Jimmy Wilder).

Create your own Cues and Views profile here!
Learn more
Other platforms for your story
whats happening now
In-Depth Personal Portraiture
Setting the Record straight