Kevin Seawright

Cues and Views

Transparent, visionary leader Kevin Seawright, in brief.

Kevin Seawright

Home: Baltimore, MD.  Age: Forty-something.  Birthplace: Philadelphia, PA.  Profession: Community development executive.  Organization: RPS Solutions, LLC.  Title: Managing Partner.  

Current project: Making decent, safe and affordable housing available to people of all economic backgrounds.  Recent recognition: The appreciation expressed by our home buyer clients for the quality and affordability of our projects.  Latest accomplishment: New contracts with a local housing non-profit for new housing development project.  What’s been your big (or biggest leap)? Starting a community development business seven years ago.  Hobbies: Basketball, spinning (cycle), sports coaching youth.  Recent travel or adventure: To South Carolina, coaching my nephew’s AAU team.  Last book read: The Affordable City, by Shane Phillips.  Recently viewed and recommended: Hustle, new on Netflix, starring Adam Sandler.  

Personality profile: Fun loving, strategic, goal-oriented and passionate about achieving them. What one word would your closest friend use to describe you? Dynamic.  Moral compass: Treat people as you want to be treated.  How do you define a perfect friendship? One that is transparent, loyal and honest.  How do you define an ideal business relationship? In just the same way.  What is your greatest joy? My daughter Tia.  What is your greatest fear? Failure, without the opportunity to recover.  What is your guilty pleasure? Sugar, sugar, sugar!  What word or phrase do you use far too often? It is what it is.  What natural talent have you neglected? Sports broadcasting.  What occupation, other than your own, do you most admire? Sports coaching.  What is your favorite place (or way) to spend money? Sporting apparel, sporting events.  What is at the top of your bucket list? I never had a bucket list, too limiting.  I just love numerous adventures.  How do you relieve stress? Basketball.  What is your go-to workout? Spin class.

What was your first paying job? As a junior camp counselor earning $25 dollars bi-weekly!  What was your favorite college course? Accounting.  What was your favorite childhood toy or game? Monopoly.  What book have you repeatedly read? Numerous motivational books, my go-to.  What movie have you repeatedly watched? Spike Lee’s He Got Game.  What’s prominently featured on your home or office wall? Stay Humble Be Kind Work Hard.  Besides your parents, who has had the greatest influence on your life? My daughter.  What’s the best advice you received growing up? Give your best at all times.  What’s the best advice you received in your career? People work with you, not for you.  What modern technology innovation do you most appreciate? Cell phones.   What is your favorite app? Banking apps.  What is your go-to source of news and information? CNN, MSNBC and Google.  What is your go-to source of creative inspiration? Pinterest.  What company or organization do you most admire? Amazon.  What personal circumstance has had the greatest influence on your life? Overcoming inner city blight and crime.  Overcoming being told what I couldn’t accomplish.

What change are you working on to effect in your profession or field?

Capital for developers of color.  

What change would you like to see in the world? World peace without partisan politics.  What mega-trend most excites you? Electric cars.  What mega-trend most concerns you? Electric cars.  What is your big idea? I can’t give it away just yet. 

What title would you choose for the movie about your life? Overcome.  What actor would you choose to play you in the movie about your life? Samuel L. Jackson.  Who would you like to spend an evening with, in heaven? I have no plans for leaving anytime soon.  I’ll decide when I get there.  As a kid, what did you first want to be when you grew up? A teacher.  After your loved ones, what object would you first save from your burning home? Pictures of loved ones. What advice would you give your younger self? Be patient.  What period in your life would you do differently, if you could? Have more fun.  I grew up too early as a kid in pursuit of financial equality.

Personal mission: My family.  Personal motto: Stay humble.  Work hard.  Be kind.

Create your own Cues and Views profile here!
Learn more
Other platforms for your story
whats happening now
In-Depth Personal Portraiture
Setting the Record straight