Jenny Leman

Cues and Views

Entrepreneurial scaling leader Jenny Leman, in brief.

Jenny Leman

Home: Austin, TX (Longhorn country).  Age: 40.  Birthplace: San Antonio, TX.  Profession: Organizational Leadership, early-to-mid stage software.  Organization: CareerPlug.  Title: President.  Preferred pronouns: She/Her/Hers.  Alma mater: University of Texas.  Languages spoken: English + Pre-teen Translation.  I need to continue my Spanish work before I claim it.

Current project: EOS integration into my organization; parenting pre-teens; advocacy for transgender kids in Texas.  Recent recognition: Leading one of Austin’s most “Transparent Companies”.   Recent professional development: Becoming an EOS integrator.  Latest professional accomplishment: Our company successfully grew our workforce by 30% last quarter. Latest personal accomplishment: My nine-year old twin daughters now request our Mommy-Daughter dates to be dinner + local library!  Latest contribution to others: Led a charitable giving Q4 2021 company goal effort that allowed us to donate $60,000 to a non-profit cause the company chose together.  What’s been your big (or biggest) leap? The last five  years, from Chief of Staff to President at CareerPlug.  Hobbies: Hiking and RV’ing with my family; brewery & winery exploration with my wife; Samba percussion, my dogs, podcasts, ramen.  Recent travel or adventure: Five-state RV tour in summer of 2021 (from Texas to Yellowstone, Grand Teton, Utah, Colorado, home).  Last book read: Atlas of the Heart, by Brene!  Recently viewed and recommended: Inventing Anna (fake it 'till you make it!).

Personality profile: Warm, Southern mannered, progressive; Consul (ESFJ).  What one word would your closest friend use to describe you? Loyal.  Moral compass: Kindness is always the right approach.  What is your greatest joy? Watching my kids laugh and seeing my team feel pride in their work.  What natural talent have you neglected? Percussion.  What is at the top of your bucket list? Spending an entire summer with my family in a foreign country.

Who has had the greatest influence on your life? Bob Hoffman (Hoffman Institute).  What is the best advice you received in your career? Lead with giving trust upfront, don’t make others earn it. What is your favorite app? LinkedIn.  What is your go-to source of news and information? My wife 😊 and The New York Times.  What is your go-to source of creative  inspiration? The outdoors.

What is your big idea?

I want to help easily connect the naturally philanthropic spirits of our children to local and global opportunities where they can safely and effectively make a difference, while also fostering and building future social entrepreneurs!

What change are you working on to effect in your profession or field? Creating a transparent, equitable and inclusive environment for employees, which then paves the way for a psychologically safe enough foundation to attract diverse talent.  Is it E & I before D?  🤔.  What widely held belief do you reject? That gender is binary.  What mega-trend most concerns you? Social media and misinformation.

Personal motto: Choose kindness, always.  Favorite quote: "Do the best you can until you know better.  Then, when you know better, do better” (Maya Angelou).

Create your own Cues and Views profile here!
Learn more
Other platforms for your story
whats happening now
In-Depth Personal Portraiture
Setting the Record straight