Annu Khot

Cues and Views

Strategist, advisor, builder and dot connector Annu Khot, in brief.

Annu Khot

Home: Northwest suburbs of Chicago.  Age: 40.  Birthplace: India.  Profession: Entrepreneur and investor.  Organization: Rely Services and Nirvana Management.  Title: Managing Partner.  Pronouns: She/Her/Hers.  Significant other: Neil Khot (husband).  Alma mater: National University of Juridical Sciences.  Languages spoken: English, Hindi and other Indian languages.

Current project: Building Socíale, my cannabis brand.  Recent recognition: Mrs. Annu Khot Appreciation Day, proclaimed by Mayor William D. McLeod, May 22, 2021.  Latest accomplishment: Bootstrapping three ventures.  What’s been your big (or biggest leap)? Moving to a new country at the age of 27; leaving family, friends, career, job, etc., to make the USA my home.  Hobbies: Painting, reading; guiding and influencing people.  Recent travel or adventure: Vail, Colorado.  Last book read: Making a Scene, by Constance Yu.  Recently viewed and recommended: The Crown.  Recent unique acquisition: I am just very grateful for all the experiences that have made me who I am today.  I wouldn’t trade them for anything else. 

Personality profile: Driven, focused; a community builder and “goal-digger”.  What one word would your closest friend use to describe you? Resilient.  Moral compass: I trust my gut.  How do you define a perfect friendship? Finding how self-aware they are, which creates meaningful conversations. How do you define an ideal business relationship? Mutual benefit, give and take. What is your greatest joy? Being of service and giving back to society.  What is your greatest fear? That I will stop learning and changing.  What is your guilty pleasure? Carbs.  What occupation, other than your own, do you most admire? Teachers.  What is your favorite place (or way) to spend money? Fashion.  I especially love spending money at Rent The Runway.  What is at the top of your bucket list? Launching Socíale – my cannabis brand.  How do you relieve stress? Solitude.  What ingredient is essential to your perfect vacation? Relaxation and “all inclusive”.  

What was your first paying job? Research Assistant at my university.  What was your favorite college course? Media and Entertainment Law.  What was your favorite childhood toy or game? Playing “school” with neighborhood friends.  I was always the teacher.  What’s prominently featured on your home or office wall? My family is everywhere.  Besides your parents, who has had the greatest influence on your life? My school Vice Principal.  What’s the best advice you received growing up? “Know the art of when to speak and when to keep quiet” (my mom).  What’s the best advice you received in your career? “Your education, career don’t define you.  You define your path” (my husband). What modern technology innovation do you most appreciate? Dyson hair wrap.  What is your favorite app? Astrology Zone.  What is your go-to source of news and information? Apple News.  What world event has had the greatest influence on your life? The pandemic.  What personal circumstance has had the greatest influence on your life? Miscarriages.  I would go to work every day to escape my reality, but it helped my business. 

What is your big idea? 

Socíale – having a portfolio of 10 dispensaries.

What change are you working on to effect in your profession or field? Making people aware of cannabis and just how good that plant is.  What change would you like to see in the world? More research and funding for cannabis, including use for women’s health.  What message do you want to send out into the world? Be selfish with your time and be of service to others.  What widely held belief do you reject? Gender equality.  Rather, each one of us has our own rules to play; both sexes need to support each other; the roles can be interchanging.  What mega-trend most concerns you? Unlimited access to media, its influence on mental health and detachment from reality.

What title would you choose for the movie about your life? Becoming.  What actor would you choose to play you in the movie about your life? Viola Davis.  Who would you like to spend an evening with, in heaven? Queen Elizabeth.  I’d love to talk about her journey, learnings and experiences.  As a kid, what did you first want to be when you grew up? A chief of something.  After your loved ones, what object would you first save from your burning home? Letters that people have written to me.  How would you choose to spend tomorrow, if you knew it was your last day on earth? Giving away my wealth.  What advice would you give your younger self? Don’t panic.  Have faith.  Be patient and walk the unknown; things have already been planned and laid out for you. What day in your life would you choose to re-live? The day I gave birth to my son. What period in your life would you do differently, if you could? None.

Personal mission: Impacting and influencing people to give back to society.  I want everyone to contribute.  Personal motto: Show up no matter what.


Create your own Cues and Views profile here!
Learn more
Other platforms for your story
whats happening now
In-Depth Personal Portraiture
Setting the Record straight